CBD oil is legal in Utah. The state enacted HB 3001 in 2018, legalizing the cultivation, processing, sale, and use of hemp-derived CBD products, including CBD products, including CBD oil. Hemp-based CBD products in Utah must not have more than 0.3% THC. Under Utah law, marijuana-derived CBD products are also legal, but only for registered medical cannabis patients. Marijuana-derived CBD products became legal in December 2018 after Utah voters approved Proposition 2.
Utah law prohibits the sale and use of smokable hemp flowers, edibles such as CBD-infused cookies and baked goods, as well as CBD-infused beverages. Besides CBD oil, the following forms of CBD products are legal in Utah:
Utah lawmakers passed HB 227 in 2023. This law contains new regulations for CBD products in the state. Hemp-derived CBD products in the state must now contain only 5 mg of THC per serving and a maximum of 150 mg per package. HB 227 also requires all inhalable cannabinoid products to carry a warning statement about their health risks.
All hemp-derived CBD products sold in Utah must be registered with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF). CBD products marketed in Utah must also carry labels stating whether they are made from hemp or marijuana. In 2014, HB 105 created a medical CBD program in Utah, giving qualifying patients access to low-THC CBD oil to treat epileptic seizures. Under this law, patients need a doctor's recommendation to obtain CBD oil.
Utah does not impose any limits on CBD possession. There is also no minimum age for accessing hemp-derived CBD products. However, marijuana-derived CBD products are restricted to qualifying patients with valid registry IDs.
It is not necessary to have a doctor's recommendation to access hemp-derived CBD oil in Utah. However, qualifying patients under Utah's medical cannabis program need a doctor's recommendation to obtain marijuana-derived CBD products. Patients registered under the Utah medical marijuana program are allowed to purchase a 30-day dosage of marijuana-derived CBD products, including CBD oil.
There are no age limits on purchasing hemp-based hemp-based CBD in Utah. However, some retailers require customers to be at least 21 before they can purchase CBD products. Marijuana-derived CBD products are only available to qualifying patients who are 21 and over who must have and must have valid Utah medical cannabis IDs.
As of May 2023, the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food no longer has responsibility for licensing hemp cultivators in the state. Anyone or entity interested in cultivatingAnyone or entity interested in cultivating hemp for CBD must now apply for a license by email to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Applicants can also reach the USDA by phone at (202) 720-2491. There is an $18 fee payable to the USDA for a fingerprint test.
Persons applying for a Utah Hemp Retail Permit must complete their applications via the UDAF online portal and pay a license fee of $50. Successful applicants will receive their printable licenses by email. Applicants must provide the following information to the UDAF:
The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food issues four categories of industrial hemp processor licenses. These are the Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier, and Tier 4 licenses. Interested individuals and businesses can apply for Utah hemp processor licenses online using the UDAF Hemp Processor Application Form. The following documents must be uploaded while completing the form:
The tiered fees for Utah hemp processor licenses are as follows:
CBD product labels in Utah must not contain any medical claims and are required to have the following mandatory information:
Utah residents can buy CBD products from licensed retailers, health shops, or online vendors.
Cannabidiol is the main cannabinoid present in hemp. It is also present in marijuana but in lesser quantities than hemp. CBD is not psychotropic, meaning that its consumption will not lead to intoxication. THC, or tetrahydrocannabinol, is the main cannabinoid present in marijuana but in trace amounts in hemp. It is a psychoactive compound. CBD is commonly recommended for the alleviation of medical conditions such as anxiety, depression, epilepsy, and PTSD. It is sold in various forms, including oils, topicals, sublingual tinctures, capsules, and tablets.
Hemp-derived CBD was legalized in the U.S. in 2018 when the Farm Bill was passed. The law removed all hemp products with no more than 0.3% THC from the list of controlled substances. Utah also passed a law approving the use of CBD products in 2018. All CBD products must be registered with the UDAF before they can be sold to consumers in the state. CBD oil products intended for inhaling or vaping are prohibited in Utah. It is also unlawful to add CBD oil to baked goods and candies sold in Utah dispensaries or grocery stores.
CBD is believed to have several medical and therapeutic uses. In Utah, people consume CBD products to relieve conditions like autism, Alzheimer's, cancer, HIV, PTSD, and epilepsy. CBD has analgesic properties that make it useful in the alleviation of chronic pain and inflammation. In some patients, the consumption of CBD helps to improve appetite. CBD is also recommended for the relief of anxiety and depression.
There are no drug tests designed to detect CBD metabolites. Drug tests are typically meant to identify THC metabolites in given samples. However, because some CBD products may contain trace elements of THC, it is possible for these THC compounds to show up in drug tests. Also, CBD products containing more than 0.3% containing more than 0.3% THC content are more likely to test positive for a drug test.