The Utah Center for Medical Cannabis (CMC), under the Department of Health and Human Services (DHSS), manages medical marijuana in the state and issues medical cannabis cards to eligible patients. Medical marijuana patients in the state can renew their medical marijuana cards within 30 days of the expiration of their current cards. However, they will not be able to print a new card until their existing cards expire. Patients must be re-examined and certified by their medical providers before they can renew their medical marijuana cards. They will then pay the renewal fees to complete the process.
Utah only accepts medical cannabis card renewal applications submitted online. Medical marijuana renewal application is made on the Electronic Verification System (EVS). A medical marijuana patient in Utah must do the following to renew their medical marijuana card:
Utah patient medical marijuana cards are valid for 1 year. Temporary and provisional medical marijuana card renewal dates differ depending on the decision of the Compassionate Use Board. Provisional medical marijuana cards are issued to minor patients, while temporary medicinal marijuana cards are issued to non-resident patients in Utah.
Medical cannabis patients in Utah must be examined and re-certified by medical providers before they can renew their medical marijuana cards. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act lists the healthcare professionals that can recommend medical marijuana in the state. They include medical doctors (MD), doctors of osteopathy (DO), podiatrists (DPM), advanced practice registered nurses (APRN), and physician assistants (PA). Medical providers must possess valid licenses from their respective boards before they can recommend medical cannabis in Utah.
In addition, medical providers are classified into two, namely: Qualified Medical Provider (QMP) and Limited Medical Provider (LMP). A QMP has gone through at least 4 hours of state-organized training on medical cannabis in the last 2 years and can recommend medical cannabis to up to 600 patients. In contrast, an LMP has not gone through state-organized medical marijuana training and may only recommend medical marijuana to a maximum of 15 patients. The DHSS maintains a list of Qualified Medical Providers who consented to have their names posted publicly.
It costs $15 to renew a medical marijuana card in Utah. Medical marijuana card renewal fees must be paid on the EVS during the renewal application. However, there may be additional fees charged for evaluation and recertification by medical providers. The minimum cost for a medical marijuana renewal visit in Utah is $5, and the maximum cost is $250.
Utah only accepts medical marijuana card renewal applications online through the Electronic Verification System (EVS). There are no provisions for walk-in or mail applications. Patients experiencing difficulties with renewing their medical marijuana cards may contact the Center for Medical Cannabis (CMC) by email or by calling (801) 538-6504.
The Utah Medical Cannabis Act permits a medical cannabis patient with a valid out-of-state medical marijuana card to use medical marijuana in Utah based on certain conditions. Their qualifying condition must be in the Utah-approved list of approved debilitating medical conditions, and their medicinal cannabis dosage must be lawful in the state. An out-of-state medical marijuana card is only valid in Utah for 45 days, after which the non-resident patient must apply for a non-Utah resident medical marijuana card (temporary medical marijuana card).
To apply for a non-resident medical marijuana card, an out-of-state patient must be evaluated and certified to be eligible for medical cannabis by a licensed medical provider in Utah. They will then apply on the EVS for a temporary medical marijuana card. If their application is successful, they will be issued a temporary medical marijuana card, valid for 21 days. In Utah, out-of-state patients may only obtain two temporary medical marijuana cards in a year.